More Hydrofoil Questions

ANDYVB2

Registered Member
City
APEX
Let me start by saying I am a newbie to the Triumph community and am very happy with not only the new boat, but also the support here. I am 99% sure I am going to put a hydrofoil on my 170 DC with 4 stroke 60 Yamaha. I have read as many of the posts as I could about this topic and the Bob's Machine Shop seems like the favored item. My question is this, I have access to a free, unused, Sport SE 300 that my brother never installed on a boat he sold he sold. Do all of the accolades about the Bob's Machine Shop outweigh the price (free) of the Sport SE 300? My main concern with the boat performance is getting on plane faster and staying there at slower speeds. It is great with two people, but is a little sluggish with more than that unless I direct everyone where to sit. We had a Hydrofoil on a boat we owned growing up and it made a huge difference, I just want to make sure I will get good performance before I start drilling holes. Any opinions on the two would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Andy

Andy,

Before you drill holes in the cavitation plate you may want to check out this thread http://www.performanceoutdoors.net/forums/triumph-150/4140-how-flush-your-transom.html.

I'm in the same boat (so to speak), I've been weighing the hydrofoil vs the smart tabs. I'm sold on the smart tabs. I know you say that your trying fix the planing at slower speed condition, but you will ocassionally want to go fast and the hydrofoil doesn't appear work as well on top end including reduced effeciency. Just some food for thought.

Tim

Andy,