New to boat ownership, new to Triumph

bobguy511

Registered Member
City
St. Paul
Hi All,

I have been fishing and boating for 40 years, but have avoided owning a boat. I finally decided to take the leap and had intended to buy a used aluminum fishing boat, I looked at so many this spring I can't even count them.

Then I came across an add on craigslist for a 1998 Logic 150. I was curiuos enough to check it out, through the process I reserched Triumph boats, when I saw the boat I had to have it! I only paid $3300 for it, but it is not the average Triumph boat. It came with a like new 25 horse Mercury 2 stroke (a 2001), a 2000 trailer in excellent shape, two new deep cycle batteries, a hummingbird fish finder with speed sensor and temerature, plus a marine radio. I took it for a test drive and everything worked perfectly, the 25 horse is little underpowered, but the boat does get up and plane out with two people on board.

The odd thing about the boat is that original owner bought just the hull of the 150. He then built the rest of the boat himself (floors, console, electrical, bench seats, storage, and rear casting deck). He did an excellent job, all the fasteners are stainless steel, the flooring seems to be the same material as the boat (some sort if 5/8" thick plastic). I didn't realize that the boat was custom made until I started looking at other Logic/Triumph boats online.

I am replacing the bench seat behind the console with a pedistal boat seat (much more comfortable). Adding a 55lb thrust MinKota trolling motor and a front casting deck. That should be done next week if all goes well.

Next winter I will replace the console and upgrade the 25 horse Mercury with a 40 or 50 horse (the boat is a little under powered with the 25 horse).

I attached a picture form the rear of teh boat and will post some before and after pictures when I am done.

I already love this boat!
Bob G.

Attachments

• boat - rear.jpg
    boat - rear.jpg
    58.5 KB · Views: 67