OWNER ARTICLE: Through-Hulls, Baitwells, and Washdowns

pamarine

Contributing Member
City
Portsmouth
State
VA

Preface

UPDATE 6/02/2008: The through-hull Installation described in this article has received approval from Triumph. This means that the hull warranty will not be voided by the procedure provided it is done exactly as described in this article. This procedure can also be used to install Through-hull transducers.

Some of the photos are posted, however, my arms really don't fit through the deck plate, so I am switching gears to look for a hatch before finishing this project. Please consult with your local Triumph Dealer or the Factory before making any cuts in the hull of your boat.

Introduction

Howdy Y'all! I'm Frank Dixon, owner and operator of Princess Anne Marine Services in Virginia Beach, VA. I am a Certified Marine Electrician with 10 years experience covering almost every aspect of boat repair and maintenance. This article is part of series covering the modifications I am making to my 2003 Triumph 170 CC.

The first topic we will be discussing is going to be the installation of a high-speed pickup for a new baitwell pump, the installation of the pump itself, and also the installation of a raw-water washdown system utilizing the same through-hull.

Skills that will be used in this project are Layout and Design, Marine Electrical, Marine Plumbing, Plastic Welding, and adaptation of Basic Carpentry. The skill level required is average. The time required is 1 day. The Price range is $300-$450, depending on brands used.

Materials Needed

1. Shurflo Piranha Livewell Pump & 800 GPH & Model# 357-113-10 or equivalent Dual-Port live-well pump
  2. Shurflo Pro Washdown Pump & 4.0 GPM & Model# 4903-4282 Includes Coil Wash-down Hose& Strainer or equivalent
  3. (2) Shurflo Pump Adapter 90˚ 3/4" Hose -- Model# 94-181-11 or equivalent