Season's Over

BeeReel

Contributing Member
City
Brockton
Think I'm done for the year but not because I wanted too. Last week cruising out to the tuna grounds after a 35 min run (5000RPM, 32MPH) in perfectly calm waters the engine lets go! After a clank (or is it a clunk) and few rattles of metal everything shuts down. Even the digital gauges stayed frozen in their running positions rather than return to zero. I'm not a mechanic but I know seeing oil/gas in the water is not good. Hoping my 2yr old Suzuki, 400hrs with a 6 year warranty gets me a new engine at no costs.

Waited for 2.5 hrs for a BoatUS tow, we made the best of the situation live-lining macs for tuna as they were jumping all around us. We were in 200ft of water and drifted about 3 miles dragging the anchor, all 300ft of rope was out. Luckily the day for Nov was great (sunny and high 60's) with seas calm and SW wind gradually increasing as the day wore on. Once hooked to the tow boat, a 3.5hr tow to land and another 3 hours of running for the truck/trailer (launch site not the same a tow site) finally got home safe.

Wow thats awful,that motor is known to be very reliable but it happens but it still sucks.I am sure they will fix it but wont get the fishing days back.Good luck at least your safe and hopefully up and running soon.Tight lines and fish safe.....TC 08 te

I'm glad it was a calm day. That would have been a long drift in rough water! Keep us updated on what you find wrong with the Suzuki. Strange to have one go like that.

BeeReel,
Glad you made it back safe.Like Randy said let us know how your repair goes.I've heard that Suzuki has a long delay for parts. I hope your repair goes smoothly for you and you dispel that myth.
John D.

Sorry to here of your problems, but glad that all is well. Glad that you were not out in the mess (Ida) that came up from the gulf last week. Good luck on the repairs.

No fish either?

Okay, I'll say it "That sucks". :eek: Now, let see how warranty covers it.