Any 90 Yamaha 2s performance tips?

Spdloader

Registered Member
City
Little River
Hi all,
I'd like to take this opportunity to say HI! to the group. I'm a newbie to the owners group, but not to boating. I even manned the Harbor Patrol/SCUBA Dive and Recovery boat in Carolina Beach, NC in 1991 and '92 as an officer there. I've been involved with boats in one way or another since about 1973, when my dad bought our first 16ft Sportcraft, with a Chrysler 85.

There have been a lot of boats and such since then, but currently I own an '05 Triumph 190Bay with the Yamaha 90 2Stroke. Easily the best boat I've ever owned, but I'd like to get the most out of my motor.

Are there any tips or tricks with this specific motor I can perform? It runs fine and is reliable, just doesn't quite give the power I'd like. I can't afford to swap up to the 150, so I'd like to get as much as possible out of this one.

Thanks in advance!

Spdloader
C. Tracy Bryson
Little River, SC.

Tracey,
Welcome aboard. I ran one of the "Winner" cruise boats in Carolina Bch. about the time you were there and lived there from 1978 to 1995. I'm sure I've seen you. You may want to do a search on this site for Bob's machine shop stabilizer plate. I put one on my 170CC Triumph that I had and loved the results. It helped the boat to plane faster and I could run on plane at a lower speed in a chop. It is solid and does not look like the "whaletail" looking doelfins. Check it out and good luck.
John D.

Spdloader: I can't help you with the yamaha but would like to say welcome. I know you will enjoy the Triumph and this site. Great for good information and just good people. James

Winner boats! Wow those were the days huh? Remember all the drunks fighting in the street between the Winner docks and the Police Department? I sure do, still have the scars! lol

Tracey,