help and thoughts

ddesrochers

Registered Member
City
South Carver
I have a suzuki 140 df and just yesterday I noticed it smoking out the hole next to the pilot hole. This was after riding it on a lake for about 45 minutes. I notice the smoke when I was going slow to the dock. I never noticed this before and I am sure I would have. The pump stream is strong but The water was quite warm when the smoke issue was happening. I let the motor rest overnight and started it up in the morning. The s pump steam was fine and no smoke for a few minutes the it started again. I am taking it into the dealer today but I was wondering if anyone had anythoughts to what may have happened. No warnings came on and the oil level is fine. I am a novice with engines so I couldn't do much more than check that.

Was it smoke as in oil or something of that nature?or was it just steam or similar to your breath in the winter time? You mentioned that you ran it steady for 45 minutes prior to seeing the "smoke".If it was steamy looking and not very concentrated it was probably just the engine being warm. Your automobile exhaust will do the same thing on a cool morning. Take a look at other boats when you are on the water and see what goes on with their motors,etc. You can learn a lot from just hanging out at a busy boat ramp for a few minutes.Good luck.
John D

How about a photo?

Hi DD,

Could you take a picture of the area the smoke comes out of with someone point at the hole?

On my Yamaha, there is a "pee" hole used to indicate that water is being pumped by the impellor. There are also two exhaust ports that water comes out of. That water is hot compaired to the water coming out of the "pee" hole which is cold.

Picture