2006 215cc for 25k?????

R

remy2007

Hello all, I'm a newbie to the board and have decided the 215cc is the perfect boat for our family. Recently I found a guy selling a 2006 215cc with t-top for 25k. The problem is he owns 25k to the bank and I'm not eacty sure how to handle this transaction. Do I go to the bank and transfer his loan to me or should I just get a loan on my own and pay his bank off? I'm leaning toward just taking over his payments, just seems easier and I'm assuming since he paid the taxes I won't have to. Is this the case?......has anyone purchased a boat this way? Appreciate any advice you good people may have.....anything I should look out for to make sure this transaction goes through smoothly for both of us?

Well I am not the banking guru (I leave those to Vic to handle ;)) but I would think that which ever gives you the lowest payment would be your best option. The present owners loan though, may not be transferable so a new loan to pay off the bank would then be needed... And I would think that in light of the current lending crunch, that interest rates should be pretty good right now. Here again what is the boat worth, credit scores, down payment all come into play :)

I would also think that our buddy Dick over at Merritt Marine could give some insight on marine related loans and how they work :D

Remy2007, I do not know what the laws are in California, but in Florida, the title would be in the owners name with the bank listed as the lien holder. The title could not be transferred until the bank releases the title, which could be a payoff or a new loan at the same bank.

I would not want to part with any of my money unless the title could be in my name. And, when you transfer the title in Florida you would get to pay taxes on that transfer, sorry, the tax man always wins.

Also, don't forget to transfer the lifetime warranty.