Engine Cutting Out

paginnett

Registered Member
I have a new 191FS with a Suzuki 140 four stroke. A new problem has arisen. After I have cruised for awhile and then stopped and killed the motor to fish a spot --- and then fire the motor up and punch it the motor starts to sputter and seems starved of gasoline. I will have to slow way down and wait a few minutes for the problem to resolve. Once I've waited the motor cruises fine. It does not seem to do this when I start out at the beginning of the day; only when I've cruised then stopped. Any ideas? Trying to avoid the long ride to the dealership. Thanks.

I'm no expert by any means, but it sounds to me like you are losing prime. I would check to see is there is a small crack around or on the priming bulb or even a loose connection to the bulb. Of couse, it could be something entirely different. Just my 1/50 of a dollar.

Such issues are sometimes better known as as "Hot Soak" conditions / issues and can be hard to find... These can range from
  1. Fuel boiling (poor fuel or too low of an octane) in the lines. Next time (kill the smokes first) try taking off the fuel cap and see if that helps some :confused: Could be either poor fuel, fuel line pinch, loose fuel line connection OR a fuel pump that is starting to get weak. I would check the fuel filter condation at the same time also... Using garbage fuel to start your grill is one thing, it does not belong in your boat though and even more important if you go any distance offshore.
  2. Various electrical connections (sensors) getting hot and expanding causing poor ECU function or creating ignition issues. I would check the condition (resistance readings) of the spark plug wires and replace either the wires or spark plug wire boots (depends upon how your wires are made), and then check to make sure all of your engine ground wires and both "clean" and secure.