Yamaha 50 TLR---Stalls on the hose?

Steve762us

Registered Member
City
Kingsland
I just purchased a used 2007 150, with a Yamaha 50 2-stroke motor. I'm new to working with outboards, but I've used the earmuff style flush attachments, and know to start the water before the motor...

The engine has run perfectly on the water for me, but the last time I flushed it, it stalled a couple of times, for no apparent reason. I was able to re-start it promptly, and finished the flush after about ten minutes (the manual says 15, but seems like ten would be adequate).

I ran the boat about twenty five miles last nite, with several stops & starts...no problems. I went to flush her this afternoon; pumped the bulb up, and she started fine. After about two minutes, the engine stalled out, and I couldn't get her to re-start. The primer bulb was soft, and I pumped it back up but still couldn't get the engine to re-start.

Fuel is fine, and should be fresh; I've put about ten hours on the motor since purchasing it about two weeks ago. Everytime I've gone to re-start it on the water, it's fired right up...and it hasn't stalled on the water...

Any suggestions on things to check would be appreciated.

Steve, I'm sure you've already thought of this but I've done it myself so it is the starting point in a checklist...be sure the kill switch clip is connected. Not sure about that engine but you may also need to do a reset sequence if it cuts off when it is time to be serviced.

Steve, I'm sure you've already thought of this but I've done it myself so it is the starting point in a checklist...be sure the kill switch clip is connected. Not sure about that engine but you may also need to do a reset sequence if it cuts off when it is time to be serviced.

Yes, I did check stop clip...it was in position when the engine stalled. I didn't mention it in the original post, but I pulled it and re-seated it just to be sure, and still couldn't get it to restart.

More Questions

Hi Steve,