Savannah Advice

SavannahJoe

Registered Member
City
Savannah
I just got a 191 Fish and Ski and I want to take it out in view of the shore and a little ways up the Savannah River. I normally fished for bass and catfish in fresh water in the past. Being that I live near the Ocean now it is time to broaden my horizons. Any advice? Location? Bait?

Thanks.

going from fresh water to salt is a large step when it comes to the operation of your boat and the type of bait and where to fish its like night and day. best thing i can tell you is to do a lot of reading on the subject and maybe take someone that has been in salt water before with the frist few times and allso is your motor made for salt water might want to fine that out too .... but it is so large of a subject it hard to answers you in a forum like this....... hope this helps

Got it

I have some experience boating in coastal regions. I am familiar with how tides effect the waterways and the hazards of coastal navigation. I've just never really fished there. All my techniques are fresh water. Of course I could drop a shrimp to the ocean floor and see what bites, but I'd rather have a strategy.

SJ,
I've fished all around this great country of ours and in a few others on different continents. On thing I found out is that fish are fish...they all look for the same things. They look for places to ambush prey and some place to hide. Whether it's bass hiding under a fallen log or a redfish lurking in a current break around an oyster bar or a dolphin (Mahi-Mahi) hanging around some floating vegetation, they're after the same thing...food and security.

Learn about what species you have in your paticular waters and take what you know and apply it to your new surroundings. Eventually, you'll put the pieces of the puzzle together and be rewarded for your efforts.

Tight lines.