Texas Gulf Coast

llama

Registered Member
City
Cascade
Just bought a 'new' used 210. It will be delivered at the end of the month. I plan on towing it to the Tx coast this fall where I spend the winter. I have very little experience with offshore fishing, and one (winter)season of bay fishing. None of it out of a boat other than a kayak.
I was am a committed flyfisherman but after several weeks of not catching fish, I switched to conventional tackle and my success rate improved dramatically! Now that I have the boat I want to rig gear up with the right tackle. I have no equipment. for offshore fishing and don't really know what to start with. I'm not even sure of the target species of fish in the offshore areas around Port Aransas in the winter.I assume there will be bottom fishing and fishing around oil rigs and maybe trolling. I guess what I'm looking for, is advice on what kind of fish I will be looking for, methods to catch them and equipment needed. What are the rods and reels tackle that I MUST have,SHOULD have REALLY NICE to have. I don't want to buy a bunch of stuff I'll never use. My original intention was to buy a bay boat for shallow water fishing but the more I thought about it the more I wanted to learn and particpate in offshore fishing too.Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Brother, I hear ya.

I bought a Bay 190 to start saltwater flyfishing but find myself heading offshore for trolling lately. I started kayak fishing in lakes and have found it to be more productive than fishing out of a boat...in fresh water. Gonna start back flyfishing more this year in the salt.....but...I have learned this.

Use conventional tackle to find and catch fish....flyfish when you want to play with them or you have caught your limit!:D

Start with a speckle trout spin cast rod and reel with 10lb clear line. Use DOA plastic shrimp, cut bait, live shrimp on a "popper" bobber, etc.