Possible Future Logic 150 Owner

DMack

Registered Member
State
MA
Hello,
I am looking at a 1998 Logic 150 side console with a 2001 Yamaha 40hp stroke motor. I am on the verge of pulling the trigger and will join up fully if I do. I have done all the internet research on these boats so now I am an expert thanks to Google! Anyways I am also looking at a 1994 Key West 1520 side console for a little less but the motor needs a shift shaft. I am really leaning towards the Logic. Any advice would be great and if I do end up with it I'll post up!
Dan

Hi Dan and welcome aboard!
1st question is what are your needs and intended use for this Skiff? What type of Ecosystem are you fishing in, and is it more important to take on some chop or be more stable in shallow water or under foot?

Plan on fishing in the harbor, beaching and exploring shallow areas, watersports and teaching my boys how to run the boat so they can gain some experience. A little chop but nothing too crazy. Mostly protected areas and open areas on calm days. Planning to keep it on a mooring shallow enough to wade out to it, hop in and go!

Last edited:
For me, when I think of sub 17 foot Skiff's this is what comes to mind:

But many times that type of Skiff (though makes a great Platform to draw ideas from) is a little on the tippy side for some users ;) It does though get in some seriously skinny water and very easy to pole around!

If the boys are going to use it for training, then I would be looking for the one that has the most beam for it will be more stable. What was the engine configuration on the Key West?

One of the many benefits to the Triumph is not being concerned about running aground on the beach, bumping a log, rocks, etc. Triumphs eat that up. A glass boat is great, and I've owned a few, but any of those obstacles would cause damage to any other boat.

Last edited: